My House’s Got Mousers

Willie and Wallace are mousers now.

Before that, they were apartment cats.

Before me, they were shelter cats.

Before the shelter, they were two- and three-month-old kittens born in a back yard.

One year ago, when Rob and I bought this house, some mice decided to move in with us.  Willie and Wallace saw the mice and decided they were toys.  Or perhaps fellow pets.  They weren’t sure.

So they didn’t do anything but stare at the mice, smell the mice, perhaps chase the mice…but they definitely did not realize that they could KILL the mice.

So Rob and I got mouse traps.

That was a year ago, though.

Last month, a mouse came into the house.  Willie and Wallace smelled it and waited for it and chased it once it finally came into the light.

A week ago, I saw a small and glistening pile of what appeared to be mouse guts sitting on the guest room rug.

Rob saw a small and glistening pile of what appeared to be mouse guts sitting on the living room rug.

We have yet to discover what happened to the rest of the mouse (mice?) but we know something deadly occurred.

So sometime during the course of this past year, my cats have learned to be mousers.

But…I can’t help but wonder about the eating habits of cats who are mousers.

Leave two piles of innards on the floor, but no skeleton?  No carcass?  No head, no feet??

As Ronald Reagan once screamed, “Where is the rest of me???”.

I am new at being the mother of two mousers.  I do not know what to do, where to go, from here.

Should I be looking for a gutless dead mouse?  Or can I assume that he’s been eaten, except for his guts?  Would my two baby boys get their jollies from chewing on mouse heads and feet?  <insert Kliban here>

And can I get a refund on the four mousetraps I bought in vain?

 

Intro Anim

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Art, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment